Alpha in Arizona

Last summer I was in Flagstaff, on my way to LA. I stopped at the Little America there, because they make the BEST fried egg and cheese sandwiches… I was really looking forward to one, since at the time I was fasting from meat. Thinking that I was out of cash, I paid a visit to the ATM machine and withdrew $100, then ordered my lunch. I discovered that actually I did have $20 something in my pocket and wouldn’t have needed the additional cash. As I waited, I noticed a family pass through the restaurant area and , being a “people-watcher” I concluded they were most likely traveling cross-country on a very limited budget. They went to the restrooms and left, never buying anything.

When I got outside a few minutes later I saw them: two older cars, both loaded to the hilt and both pulling small trailers also loaded to the bursting point. I’ve been an “over the road” driver off and on for almost 30 years and I have seen this innumerable times: a family fallen on hard circumstances, trying to get somewhere to improve their situation.  As a father, I understand the tremendous amount of responsibility this man had shouldered, taking his family and everything they owned on a journey in search of a better situation. I’ve had many times in my own life when I felt inadequate as a father or husband and I could feel the depth of his worry and doubt. But they weren’t leaving, so I walked over to the Dad and I introduced myself.

“Taking the tribe across country?” I asked. “Tryin’ to,” he replied, nodding. “Having some trouble?” I felt a need to ask him this because after all, it’s what Alpha Mobility Mission is all about, helping stranded travelers. He explained that they were out of money, and although they had a friend who wanted to help out, he had no way to send them cash, so they were just waiting to find a solution. It was clear to me what I was there for… I took the $100 out of my pocket. “You’re waiting for some money? Well, here it is…. this is how God works.” I wished him luck as his eyes teared, and went back to my own vehicle, not once questioning whether I’d done the right thing.

After all… it’s NEVER the wrong time, to do the Golden Rule. And as the Director of an agency which exists for the sole purpose of helping those whom no one else will, what else would I have done? If and when God makes it possible for me to share or to bless someone or help them out in some way, then it is always incumbent upon me to help out and  pass on to those who need it more than I do.

If you’ve ever seen a car on the side of the road broken down (and you know I’m not talking about some $125,000 land yacht) and wished that you could help in some way but for many logical and practical reasons you didn’t, then visit our website at http://www.alphamobilitymission.org and help us help others. Today’s wisdom is centered on Karma, or the concept that “what goes around comes around.” Isn’t that really what The Golden Rule is all about? Pay it forward, somehow, because you never know when YOU will be that car at the side of the road that no one stops to help. At least, until someone affiliated with Alpha Mobility Mission shows up!

About Alpha Mobility Mission

Alpha Mobility Mission is a Public Charity under IRS determination as a 501 (c) (3) (Tax Exempt) Corporation. We specialize in solving personal transportation issues encountered by disabled and indigent persons across the United States, including stranded traveler assistance, relocation assistance to homeless or run-aways, and funeral and other emergency travel aid. Our organization operates 100% on donations. When you support our organization you're helping those in need to be able to move to a better place, be closer to family, or attend funerals and other functions they otherwise would not have been able to. Please help us by visiting our website and making a donation: it means the world to those we're helping!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

